Roasted Vegetable and Pesto Sandwich

Standard

God, I love pesto.  It’s just so tasty.  I know it’s cheating, but I have never actually made it myself…I keep meaning to, but then my basil always dies before it produces enough.  One day my ideals will match my gardening prowess.

This sandwich is extremely simple (as are most sandwiches).  It’s really just a true celebration of summer, as it is packed with roasted summer produce.  Yep, I am trying make the most of the last dregs of summer before it completely disappears!

roasted veg and pesto sandwich

Roasted Vegetable and Pesto Sandwich

Ingredients:

1 medium red onion, thinly sliced

1 zucchini (courgette), thinly sliced lengthwise

1 eggplant (aubergine), thinly sliced lengthwie

1 red pepper, cut into long strips

olive oil

salt and pepper

pesto

fresh mozzarella

whole grain baguette

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 400*F (200*C). Arrange the vegetables on a baking tray, toss with olive oil, salt and pepper and bake for 15 minutes, or until the edges are just turning brown.

2. Assemble the sandwich by cutting down one side of the baguette. Spread pesto on the inside and layer the vegetables and mozzarella inside.  Return to the oven until the cheese is melted.

Leave a Reply

